Jumping The Gun!

IMG_0335Hm. Well, it seems I jumped the gun on offering a tour of the album. No photos yet on my blog, but you can see them at Moonmooring or wait until I get better at this. Here’s my cranky story. I was waylaid by illness this spring while attempting to start a new garden and didn’t get things planted in a timely manner or get the garden spot developed enough to hold all I wanted to plant. However, a former owner of my little farmette kindly left behind a cement shuffleboard court (they were from California — what can I say?) and I’ve used it to start a garden of straw bales and containers. The original garden has been given over to potatoes and greens, the wild kind, mostly. The strawbales are hosting a variety of eating, canning and drying tomatoes, along with two kinds of peppers, cucumbers, pole beans and an eggplant. In pots are horticulture beans, yardlong beans, chard, mizuna, and nasturtiums. Smaller containers hold rosemary, tarragon, English and Lemon thyme, tansy, rue, eucalyptus, lemon verbena, italian parsley, sage, lemon balm, garlic chives and basil.Everything’s doing nicely, thank you, helped along with weekly fertilizer and rabbit manure tea. All are watered by soaker hose. I use 2″ wide electrical tape to seal off areas of the hose that are not adjacent to areas I want watered, like between containers and such. It’s my first try at bales and I don’t know much about container gardening, but I’m loving the experiment and it seems to work no matter how much I screw up.  More to come about varieties, harvests and ephemera.

Marideth

Visit Maridethsisco.com

One thought on “Jumping The Gun!

  1. Trying to find your book, “Crosspath: Cranky Musings on Gardening in the Rocky Ground” at a local retailer in Joplin, Mo area. Can you tell me what retailers have your book? Thanks, Pat

Leave a Reply

